Sharing A Story of Strength

When I started The October Weekend blog back on Feb. 22, 2013, I pictured it as a place where I could write about things I wanted to write about.

I also saw it as a place where I could share things that I discovered with my family and friends, and whatever loyal readers I have who keep coming back to see what I’m spouting off about.

Emilie Throckmorton, center, poses with her two children. (Photo courtesy of onemominmaine.com)

Emilie Throckmorton, center, poses with her two children. (Photo courtesy of onemominmaine.com)

This is why today it is my honor and pleasure to be sharing this: The story of Emilie Throckmorton — a story I just discovered last week when I discovered her blog “One Mom in Maine.” You can click on the blog title to read her posts.

I discovered it on my Facebook page, a share that somebody else had posted. I took some time last night and started perusing Emilie’s last three posts and was simply blown away by what I read.

First some background: I don’t know Emilie Throckmorton at all. I do, however, know her husband, Tim … and many of my Maine-based readers are likely to recognize that name immediately.

When I was cutting my teeth in journalism back in the 1980s and 90s at the Bangor Daily News, Tim Throckmorton was working things on the TV side of things with WABI-TV. He is a great guy and his love of local sports is something I’ve always admired about him.

Since leaving Maine, I lost track of Tim and what was going on his life, only to rediscover most of it in the posts I’m about to share.

This isn’t Tim’s story, though he plays a big part in it … one I think you’ll come to admire and respect.

This is Emilie’s story and it’s about a health scare that only a few of us can understand. The way Emilie tells her story is open, honest, beautiful and emotional. I suggest you have tissues nearby.

And it should be read in order.

Here is post one

Here is post two.

Here is post three.

I hope you take the time to read Emilie Throckmorton’s story and truly appreciate. I’m sure many of you have been through similar things and can appreciate it on a more personal level.

Others who have never dealt with a near brush with tragedy might have their eyes open, too.

I know I did.

And I know I’ll be reading Emilie Throckmorton’s blog more often in the future, as well.

 

 

Leave a Reply

