October 4 – Are You Ready For Some Football? Not at 9 a.m.

The NFL Today crew circa my youth. (Photo courtesy of CBS Sports)

The NFL Today crew circa my youth. (Photo courtesy of CBS Sports)

I woke up this morning to sounds The NFL Today — the familiar voices, the familiar jingle.

I suppose if I had heard Brent Musberger and Phyllis George discussing the weather with Jimmy The Greek then I would have either been: A – Dreaming, and the last 30 years of my life weren’t real; Or, B – Transported back in time, which would have given me the chance to try and make out with … over never mind.

NBC Sports used to give us Breakfast at Wimbledon.

The NFL is now giving us Breakfast at Wembley.

The New York Jets are facing the Miami Dolphins and they’re doing so across the Atlantic Ocean in London, England.

Thus on this Sunday morning I really am waking up to the NFL on CBS.

This has been going on for a few years now as the league looks to expand its horizons (read: Find another place to steal money from the people’s pockets) because pro sports is all about the money.

The game could have been played in Miami. Or East Rutherford, N.J. — though I’m sure the Jets would rather have a home-field advance in London than swamp lands of Eastern Jersey.

For the record, I’m not getting my weekly dose of Charles Osgood. Instead, I’m forced fed the likes of Ndamukong Suh and D’Brickashaw Ferguson.

But I did get to hear a gorgeous version of “God Save The Queen.”

So there’s that.

I have my coffee, I have eaten my breakfast. It’s time for kick-off.

I just need to figure out who’s playing Left Limey and a what point with David Beckham be put in the game to kick an extra point.

 

 

Leave a Reply

